i am so over fast fashion

Miscellaneous

For the month of April I have decided to opt out of shopping at “fast fashion” stores. I feel like as a fashion major I always need to keep up with the latest trends and be on top of my game, but what good is that doing for the environment or even for myself? If I am constantly looking at what other people are wearing and mimicking outfits they are putting together, I start to close myself off from being creative and going out of my comfort zone to try and pair something together that I haven’t seen anyone do before. I am totally here for getting inspiration and admiring certain style icons, but I don’t want to try and be them completely!

Also not so fun fact: fashion is the second largest pollutant in the world, second to OIL. Oil you guys!!!! This completely blows my mind. I knew that it was a problem but I didn’t know just how big. Overproducing is real and we need to make more people aware of it. Is always staying on trend worth THIS much damage? The answer is most definitely no. I am going to try my best to do my part and shop exclusively at secondhand stores or only buy from companies that are environmentally conscious or contribute to my communities economy for the month of April and hopefully longer.

Stay tuned to see if I can keep my butt out of Zara!

Leave a Reply

